

Executive Staff:

Richard Stensrud Chief Executive Officer

Scott Chan Chief Investment Officer

Robert L. Gaumer General Counsel

Kathryn T. Regalia Chief Operations Officer

John W. Gobel, Sr. Chief Benefits Officer Members of the Board of Retirement

James A. Diepenbrock, President Appointed by the Board of Supervisors

John B. Kelly, Vice President Appointed by the Board of Supervisors

> Michael DeBord Elected by the Retired Members

Keith DeVore Appointed by the Board of Supervisors

Richard B. Fowler II Appointed by the Board of Supervisors

Diana Gin Elected by the Miscellaneous Members

Kathy O'Neil Elected by the Miscellaneous Members

> Chris A. Pittman Elected by the Safety Members

Julie Valverde Ex Officio, Director of Finance

John Conneally Elected by the Safety Members

Martha J. Hoover Elected by the Retired Members

MINUTES

RETIREMENT BOARD MEETING, MONDAY, MARCH 3, 2014

A special meeting of the Retirement Board was held in the Sacramento County Employees' Retirement System Administrative Office, 980 9th Street, 19th Floor, Sacramento, California, on Wednesday, March 3, 2014, and commenced at 9:00 a.m.

OPEN SESSION:

PUBLIC COMMENT:

1. None heard.

STRATEGIC PLANNING SESSION:

2. The Board of Retirement, the Chief Executive Officer, the Chief Investment Officer, the General Counsel, the Chief Operations Officer, the Chief Benefits Officer, the Deputy Chief Investment Officer, the Retirement Services Manager, and the Accounting Manager, discussed potential strategic goals and objectives in a strategic planning session facilitated by Keith Bozarth of Keith Bozarth, LLC.

The meeting was adjourned at 3:42 p.m.

<u>MEMBERS PRESENT</u>: James A. Diepenbrock, John B. Kelly, Michael DeBord, Keith DeVore, Richard B. Fowler II (arrived late), Diana Gin, Chris A. Pittman, Julie Valverde, John Conneally, and Martha J. Hoover (departed early).

MEMBERS ABSENT: Kathy O'Neil.

OTHERS PRESENT: Richard Stensrud, Chief Executive Officer; Scott Chan, Chief Investment Officer; Robert L. Gaumer, General Counsel; Kathryn T. Regalia, Chief Operations Officer; John W. Gobel, Sr., Chief Benefits Officer; Steve Davis, Deputy Chief Investment Officer; Suzanne Likarich, Retirement Services Manager; Thuyet Dang, Accounting Manager; Lance Kjeldgaard, Outside Counsel; Michael Perri, Lincoln Crow; and Keith Bozarth, Keith Bozarth LLC.

Respectfully submitted,

Richard Stensrud Chief Executive Officer and Secretary of the Retirement Board

APPROVED:

James A. Diepenbrock, President

DATE:

cc: Retirement Board (11); Board of Supervisors (6); County Counsel; County Executive (2); Internal Services Agency (2); County Labor Relations; Employee Organizations (20); Sacramento County Retired Employees' Association; SCERS Member Districts (10); Elected Officials (3); Superior Court of California, County of Sacramento; Amervest Company, Inc.; Mark Merin; John R. Descamp; and The Sacramento Bee.